Catechism of the Catholic Church

Catechism of the Catholic Church – online link to the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops

Pdf documents posted below are for use by certified military lay leaders in operational settings:

  • CCC-1: The Profession of Faith, (pdf-1.1 MB)
  • CCC-2: The Celebration of the Christian Mystery, (pdf-634 KB)
  • CCC-3: Life in Christ, (pdf-757 KB)
  • CCC-4: Christian Prayer, (pdf-344 KB)

Four Pillars of the Catechism

The Catechism of the Catholic Church is arranged into four parts: the Creed, the Sacred Liturgy, with pride of place given to the sacraments; the Christian way of life, explained beginning with the Ten Commandments; and finally, Christian prayer. Pope Saint John Paul II writes, “The four parts are related one to the other: the Christian mystery is the object of faith (first part); it is celebrated and communicated in liturgical actions (second part); it is present to enlighten and sustain the children of God in their actions (third part); it is the basis for our prayer, the privileged expression of which is the Our Father, and it represents the object of our supplication, our praise and our intercession (fourth part)” (FD III).