National Prayer on Good Friday

Join Archbishop Jose Gomez, president of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops and Archbishop of Los Angeles, in a national moment of prayer in the time of the coronavirus. Together as a nation, we will pray the Litany to the Sacred Heart of Jesus and seek our Savior’s healing and protection.

When: Good Friday, April 10 at 12pm ET | 11am CT | 10am MT | 9am PT

How to Participate: Visit www.facebook.com/usccb or lacatholics.org/sared-heart to join the live-stream and pray as one nation.

By a special grant from the Apostolic Penitentiary of the Holy See for those who pray for the end of the pandemic, a plenary indulgence is available for those who join Archbishop Gomez in praying the Litany of the Sacred Heart on Good Friday. A plenary Indulgence removes all of the temporal punishment due to sins and may be applied to oneself or to the souls of the deceased [Catechism of the Catholic Church, no. 1471].

To receive this indulgence, a member of the faithful would need to:

  1. pray the Litany of the Sacred Heart on Good Friday
  2. be truly repentant of any sins they have committed and receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation (at the earliest opportunity)
  3. pray for the Holy Father’s intentions.